Should I Stay Or Should I Go

ye olde mitre window

Having taken a week and a bit off of work, I had planned a good few trips discovering some new pubs and revisiting some old favourites. I was recently back from a three day stint in Manchester , and I shall describe a few more of Its delights soon. I took it easy for a couple of days after my triumphant return from the north, then on the Tuesday ,London beckoned. The train station  is a good 25 minute walk from home so I set off in readiness to catch the 10.05 to London Waterloo. The Sun was shining it was a pleasant day, the walk takes me through some woodland and past some open fields, all was good. about half way I felt a little odd a slight ache in my chest and shoulder, and I felt a little light headed, It was nothing , I manfully upped the pace and strode on toward my target, the discomfort passed and was forgotten. Once in London I jumped onto the tube and straight up the Northern line as far as I could go,terminating at High Barnet. A five minute walk uphill and the reason for coming here was in sight. Ye Olde Mitre Inne.

Ye Olde Mitre Inne
Established 1636

A lovely old pub, slightly bent and twisted with age, located in a not particularly remarkable high street. Inside is a wonderful mix of brick, wood, plaster and stone in several undulating areas and levels.

ye olde mitre interior
 Grim Reaper, Could it be?
ye olde mitre interior dogs
Dog Friendly
ye olde mitre interior sparkler
Northerner friendly

The pub is very much a beer place and there are altogether twelve handpumps, there are some people who will frown at this, others that embrace it, and as long as they shift the ale and it remains in good nick, Its not a problem as far as I’m concerned. Somehow I manged not to get a photo of the handles , but the range catered for most with beers from the likes of Adnams, Timothy Taylor, Dark Star, Moor and my choice of Burning Sky Aurora, a lovely fresh and juicy pint pushing NBSS 3.5.

ye old mitre burning sky Aurora
A glowing Burning Sky

There were of course more pubs during the day, I will describe these at a later date,It was a good day, bright and summery despite being October. It would soon become a darker story. On the way home on the train, for some inexplicable reason I took a selfie

pre ha

Why I have know idea, I am not a vain person, why would I be with a face like that?

A few hours later I was laid out in an ambulance in the throes of a heart attack, my beloved Guinness T shirt was cut from me so the electricity could be applied to wrench me back from the bony grasp of the grim reaper.

cut shirt

I don’t remember the three girl’s names who saved my life in that ambulance in the early hours of a Wednesday morning, but I will be eternally grateful to them. I was to enter the netherworld again at the hospital and was yet again dragged back into the living world, I have so many to thank for so much.

Another selfie, what the hell’s going on?

hosp shot
Partially waxed chest

Well the rest of my holiday started here, now somewhat extended and subdued. A week later I am still battered and bruised but on the mend, serious pub adventures put on hold.

I do now wonder if the chap in the third picture was actually the grim reaper eyeing me up!

So should I stay or should I go…. I stayed with some help.

22 thoughts on “Should I Stay Or Should I Go

  1. One of the great posts, talk about bringing real life into a blog 😱

    Glad you’re back with us though I think we owe you a pint after Worcester when you’re fully recovered. I hear Becks zero is OK.

    Agree on Mitre, as good as North West London gets. Had a NBSS 3.5 Landlord last year.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, that was rather more dramatic than the impression you’d given from your pretty cool reporting of it 😮

    Glad you’re feeling better now – take it easy 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “Could it be?”

    Can’t be a proper pub without a bloke sitting at the bar. 😎

    “why would I be with a face like that?”

    I shall have to take your word for it as the photo doesn’t show up on my phone. 🤔
    (or some of the other ones for that matter)

    “A few hours later I was laid out in an ambulance in the throes of a heart attack, my beloved Guinness T shirt was cut from me so the electricity could be applied to wrench me back from the bony grasp of the grim reaper.”

    Bloody hell! (though, to be honest, I was directed here by a link in one of Martin’s posts and was forewarned).

    And, while I no longer drink much of it, most of the t-shirts I wear under my shirt are Guinness related. 😉

    “I do now wonder if the chap in the third picture was actually the grim reaper eyeing me up!”

    If you’re talking about the white haired gent sitting at the bar I’d say he looks more like Santa Claus on holiday. 🎅😎

    “I stayed with some help.”

    And God bless them. 👍

    Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

      1. 😋

        Hopefully this won’t be taken the wrong way but Santa also being the Reaper makes sense.

        Every person he tags is one he can scratch off his list. 😏😁

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment